Macclesfield: Elizabeth Jordan, clarinet

Sibelius Rakastava op 14
Mozart Clarinet Concerto in A major K622
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Haydn Symphony no 6 in D major Le Matin

Supported by the Friends of the NCO

Tickets: £22 stalls, £17 gallery | Full Time Students and Under 18s Free

We begin our season showcasing many of our excellent principal players. Elizabeth Jordan gives us her fine interpretation of Mozart’s gorgeous Clarinet Concerto on the basset clarinet, for which the piece was originally written. Vaughan Williams’ much-loved Lark Ascending
finds Artistic Director Nicholas Ward evoking a nostalgic scene of the English countryside. Listening to Sibelius’ wonderfully atmospheric Rakastava, it is hard to imagine that he originally composed this for unaccompanied male chorus. Haydn’s Symphony no 6 nicknamed ‘Le
Matin’, opens with a picture of the sun rising. It is the first of three symphonies that are characterised by unusual virtuoso writing across the orchestral ensemble, most notably the double bass.

Saturday 5 October 7.30pm

Macclesfield Heritage Centre