Macclesfield: Raphael Wallfisch, cello

On general sale Monday 1 July 2019. Season ticket renewals and Friends should call 0161 247 2220.

Holst St Paul’s Suite
Tchaikovsky Variations on a Rococo Theme
Weinberg Cello Concertino op 42
Schubert Symphony no 5

Tickets: £22 stalls, £17 gallery | Full Time Students and Under 18s Free

Raphael Wallfisch, one of the most distinguished solo cellists of our time, has for a number of years been President of the NCO. He plays Tchaikovsky’s original version of the Rococo Variations, which marries the expressive and virtuosic power of the instrument. Raphael
gives the UK premiere of the concertino by Mieczyslaw Weinberg, a contemporary of Shostakovich who surpassed his friend in the quantity of symphonies and quartets he composed. His work has recently been gaining recognition from critics and audiences alike. Trombonist Gustav Holst shows the perfection of his string writing in the St Paul’s Suite, making characterful use of folk tunes. We end with the ever fresh 5th Symphony by the youthful Schubert.

Supported by Caroline Brown

Saturday 9 November 7.30pm

Macclesfield Heritage Centre