Macclesfield: Martin James Bartlett, piano

Rossini String Sonata no 4
Mozart Piano Concerto no 9 K271 Jeunehomme
Sibelius Suite Champêtre
Mozart Symphony no 33 in B flat

Tickets: £22 stalls, £17 gallery | Full Time Students and Under 18s Free

Winner of the BBC Young Musician competition in 2014, Martin James Bartlett, who previously appeared with the NCO in 2016, returns to Macclesfield. He plays Mozart’s early masterpiece composed in Salzburg when he was 21, which Alfred Brendel called “one of the greatest wonders of the world” and Alfred Einstein dubbed “Mozart’s Eroica.”

Rossini was only twelve years old when he wrote his delightful string sonatas. These are scored for an ensemble of violins, cellos and double bass (no violas!). Sibelius’ Suite Champêtre is a light-hearted pastoral piece full of rustic charm.

The concert concludes with Mozart’s Bb symphony, composed in Salzburg in 1779. A gravely beautiful slow movement, sprightly outer movements – the minuet was a later addition – show his usual masterful use of the wind.

Supported by Caroline Brown

Saturday 15 February 2020 7.30pm

Macclesfield Heritage Centre