Macclesfield: Colin Currie, percussion

Mozart Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
Kurt Schwertsik Now you hear me, now you don’t
Delius Two Aquarelles
Dvořák Serenade for Strings op 22

Tickets: £22 stalls, £17 gallery | Full Time Students and Under 18s Free

Our first concert of the New Year brings a programme that begins and ends with two great string serenades. The much abused term masterpiece must unquestionably be applied to Mozart’s Little Night Music, composed towards the end of his short life. Dvorák’s Serenade, in five movements, contains a waltz, a scherzo and one of his loveliest slow movements. The high-spirited finale eventually returns to the benign calm of the opening section, giving an arch-like structure to the whole piece.

We welcome the marvellously talented Scottish percussionist, Colin Currie. He is playing an entertaining piece by contemporary Viennese composer Kurt Schwertsik, whose works are characterised by his particular exploration of tonality, musical irony and humour.

Supported by the Friends of the NCO

Saturday 18 January 2020 7.30pm

Macclesfield Heritage Centre