Northern Chamber Orchestra Twitter AccountNorthern Chamber Orchestra Facebook Account


Call our box office on: 0161 247 2220

Macclesfield Season: Jess Gillam, saxophone

October 28, 2017

Jess Gillam Northern Chamber Orchestra

“…Jess Gillam is a true inspiration, she frankly rocks.” Huffington Post

CPE Bach Symphony in Eb Wq179 | Mozart Violin Concerto No 4 with Nicholas Ward, violin | Barber Adagio for Strings | Dave Heath The Celtic Concerto | Morricone Gabriel’s Oboe

In our second concert of the Macclesfield season, we welcome Jess Gillam, a young saxophonist who, since finishing as runner-up in the 2016 BBC Young Musician of the Year, has a very bright future. In the words of Clemency Burton-Hill, Jess is a “life-affirming musician”. In this programme, she will play the Celtic Concerto, a piece that is becoming hugely popular owing to its both expressive and wildly exciting writing. After a perfect example of ‘Sturm und Drang’, in CPE Bach’s explosive E flat symphony that opens the evening, the first half also features a soloist who is somewhat better known to many of our audience, our Artistic and Musical Director, Nicholas Ward who will be playing the effervescent and charming 4th violin concerto of Mozart. Completing the programme, is a string piece that is as emotive as it is popular, Barber’s Adagio for Strings, the subject of a recent book by Thomas Larsen; “The Saddest Music Ever Written.”

Supported by the Friends of the NCO

Saturday 28 October 2017 7.30pm

Macclesfield Heritage Centre, Roe Street, Macclesfield


Enter your starting address:

Sign up to our e-newsletter

View more